Speaker Series

A wonderful night with Dana Perino

On Sunday, October 25th, we were thrilled to welcome Dana Perino to York to be our 26th "In the Spotlight" Speaker Series keynote speaker. Ms. Perino took the stage at The Strand-Capitol Performing Arts Center and engaged the audience in a wonderfully entertaining speech. She shared stories from her time as White House Press Secretary and her current position as star of Fox News' hit show, The Five. Ms. Perino also gave fascinating insight on the upcoming presidential election and a rundown of some of the most captivating candidates for both Republican and Democratic nominations. Evan Forrester, news anchor from Fox43, moderated a compelling Q&A with Ms. Perino after her speech, which allowed the audience members to hear her thoughts on their most burning questions. She gave the audience exactly what they came for and more; we have received glowing reviews of Ms. Perino and the event as a whole.

The "In the Spotlight" Speaker Series would not be possible without the generous support from our sponsors and in-kind donors. Sponsors: The W. Dale Brougher Foundation; Conewago Enterprises, Inc.; Ms. Coni Wolf; Glatfelter Insurance Company; OSS Health; Fox43 WPMT; and NewsRadio WSBA AM-910. In-kind Donors: Futer Bros. Jewelers; Craig Ashway Photography; The Yorktowne Hotel; Kimman’s, Co.; MediaOnePA; Chas. A. Schaefer Flower Shop, Inc.; Ginger Babies Catering; The Strand-Capitol Performing Arts Center; NeFra; Buchart Horn, Inc.; and Production Express.

A huge thank you to the 2015-2016 Speaker Series Committee. Your dedication to planning and preparing for this event is appreciated and made the event shine. This event truly was a benefit to the community and a wonderful representation of our League and its members. Thank you, Angela Ang-Alhadeff (Co-Chair), Jessica Ruelens (Co-Chair), Karen Simon (Sustainer Representative), Rose Johnston (Sustainer Representative), Tami Bowman (Sustainer Representative), Beth Halgash (Treasurer), Ashley Zurawski, Angie Sparks, and Jennifer Brillhart.


In the 1980s, the Junior League of York endeavored to bring headliner speakers to the York County community. This effort was three-fold: to underwrite the cost of high-end speakers who ordinarily wouldn’t come to York; to provide entertainment; and to aid the Junior League of York in its mission to improve the community through the events’ net proceeds.

Now in its 25th year, the “In the Spotlight” Speaker Series is the League’s signature fundraising event, raising a significant portion of the League’s annual income. Speakers span the spectrum of politics, media, sports and pop culture.

The net proceeds from the Speaker Series events support the League’s grant-making process, which has helped fund projects such as beautifying and helping to revitalize downtown York, the YWCA’s Olde Towne East Renaissance plan, the Children’s Advocacy Center, children’s “Eating Healthy” initiatives, Olivia’s House (a grief loss center for children), Sunday hours at Martin Library, Junior Achievement’s Finance Park and other endeavors that help improve the lives of those in the York area. Proceeds are used to help educate and train league members in leadership, boardsmanship and planning skills. Some proceeds are also used to support the Junior League Thrift Shop, our 60 year old, city-based retail store.

The League has hosted many incredible speakers over the past 25 years through both “In the Spotlight” Series and the original format, the JLY Lecture Series.

Charles Krauthammer
Jane Bryant Quinn
Carson Kressley
Dave Thomas
Kyle Petty
Robert Novak
Laura Bush
Joan Rivers
Liz Murray
Art Buchwald
Bill O'Reilly
Rex Reed
Terry Bradshaw
John Stossel
Tim Russert
William Proxmire
Her Majesty Queen Noor of Jordan
Mary Lou Retton
Colonel Oliver L. North

Julia Cummings

Rudolph W. Guiliani
Joe Theismann
Sidney Poitier
G. Gordan Liddy
Cal E. Ripkin, Jr.
Irving R. Levine
Katie Couric
Willie Stargell
President George H. W. Bush
Mary Alice Williams
Walter Cronkite
Tom Wolfe
General Colin Powell
Robert F. Kennedy, Jr.
Bonnie Blair
Major Stanislaw Levchenko
Mark Shields
Rocky Bleier
Dr. C. Everett Koop
Al Hunt
James A. Lovell
Willard Scott